AMP Steps installed

smlaw

TRX Fan
Founding Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
84
Reaction score
246
Location
Dallas
Current Ride
'17 Denali
Current Ride #2
'20 BMW M5 Competition; '19 Z06
Military
Navy
So my dealer incorrectly said they are installing MOPARs power steps and just now informed me that they don't have access to MOPARs for my truck and instead installed AMP...which is what I wanted anyway.


Here ya go..only pic I have until I pick up in the AM and I'll post a video of it...not sure I can control through the infotainment or not...I'll ask the less-than-knowledgeable-dealer lol
 

Attachments

  • 63347216716__09228766-8FB3-452D-BFB3-F465EC1463AB.JPEG
    63347216716__09228766-8FB3-452D-BFB3-F465EC1463AB.JPEG
    617.6 KB · Views: 970

KnightMare

Moderator
Staff member
Founding Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
2,710
Reaction score
6,176
Location
North Carolina
Current Ride
'21 Outlander XMR, '19 Sprinter 144, '19 Accord, '18 ZX-10rr, '15 Caravan, '17 Fusion, '12 Pasat CC, '11 ZX-10r, '04 Avalanche
Current Ride #2
'67 Pontiac GTO, '67 Lemans Convertible, '69 Camaro, '69 Chevelle, '70 Chevelle, '70 Chevelle
Awesome. I wonder why the heck they aren't an option from factory
 

RBGP_TRX

TRX Fan
Joined
Jan 22, 2021
Messages
91
Reaction score
148
Location
MID MO
Current Ride
2010 Trubo LSX Camaro
Current Ride #2
2019 F350DRW
That’s slick. Another mod I’d like to do as well!
 
OP
smlaw

smlaw

TRX Fan
Founding Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2020
Messages
84
Reaction score
246
Location
Dallas
Current Ride
'17 Denali
Current Ride #2
'20 BMW M5 Competition; '19 Z06
Military
Navy
Yeah I'd concur that's not their wheelhouse, ie, making indestructible steps, so they leave it to 3rd parties.
 

SportyJames

TRX Junkie
Founding Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
507
Reaction score
1,131
Location
Hurricane Alley TX
Current Ride
TRX
Current Ride #2
Challenger SP WB, Jeep GC Limited X
Not that it matters, but those do not look like AMP Steps. There should be a logo right here.
1611781099331.png
 

soulsea

☐ Rekt ☑ Not Rekt
Staff member
Founding Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
990
Reaction score
3,520
Location
Bar
Out of curiosity, can they be disabled through a switch inside the cabin?
 

ERIC702

TRX Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
31
Reaction score
36
Location
Peoria, AZ
Current Ride
2020 Ford Raptor
So my dealer incorrectly said they are installing MOPARs power steps and just now informed me that they don't have access to MOPARs for my truck and instead installed AMP...which is what I wanted anyway.


Here ya go..only pic I have until I pick up in the AM and I'll post a video of it...not sure I can control through the infotainment or not...I'll ask the less-than-knowledgeable-dealer lol
That's awesome!! Someone on an earlier post stated the Amp steps wont work on the TRX due to the rear suspension attachment points.
 

HellcatTruck

TRX Fiend
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
278
Reaction score
551
Location
Texas
Current Ride
C63 AMG
That's awesome!! Someone on an earlier post stated the Amp steps wont work on the TRX due to the rear suspension attachment points.
Exactly. That's why I'm curious what the model number is. I would hate to order AMP and figure out these are not AMP either.
 

litig8r187

TRX Fanatic
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
118
Reaction score
228
Location
Texas
Current Ride
Jeep SRT
Hell yes! This is what I needed. Part of the justification for this truck was my wife couldn't get in and out of the 6" lifted F250 on 37s that I had. I promised this would be lower and I'd get power steps if they were available. She'll be happy which means I'll be happy.IMG_2088.JPG
 

BeezyKeezy

Impatient One #0478
Founding Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Current Ride
2020 Raptor 802A
Current Ride #2
2020 Limited 1500, 2017 Cadillac CT5
Military
Army
I have 9 2019/2020 Limited rams and those are most definitely OEM power steps.
 

tripleB

TRX Addict
Founding Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2020
Messages
1,448
Reaction score
4,954
Location
Arkansas
Current Ride
🦖
I have 9 2019/2020 Limited rams and those are most definitely OEM power steps.
Agreed, you can see the RAM logo on the far right end of the step in that picture. I wonder if they were able to flash the ECU to allow for the factory style control through the center screen like on the regular 1500's, does the TRX even allow for that software change? Since it wasn't a factory option on the TRX I would be surprised if the wiring is there to do a plug and play so I wonder how much manual wiring was done.
 

BeezyKeezy

Impatient One #0478
Founding Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Current Ride
2020 Raptor 802A
Current Ride #2
2020 Limited 1500, 2017 Cadillac CT5
Military
Army
Agreed, you can see the RAM logo on the far right end of the step in that picture. I wonder if they were able to flash the ECU to allow for the factory style control through the center screen like on the regular 1500's, does the TRX even allow for that software change? Since it wasn't a factory option on the TRX I would be surprised if the wiring is even there to do the hardwired install?
My Assumption is that they wired directly to the Door lights. On/Off might be an issue and from experiencec they don't like getting duped on boulders... broke one of our trucks steps pretty quickly. lol
 

BeezyKeezy

Impatient One #0478
Founding Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
26
Reaction score
39
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Current Ride
2020 Raptor 802A
Current Ride #2
2020 Limited 1500, 2017 Cadillac CT5
Military
Army
Agreed, you can see the RAM logo on the far right end of the step in that picture. I wonder if they were able to flash the ECU to allow for the factory style control through the center screen like on the regular 1500's, does the TRX even allow for that software change? Since it wasn't a factory option on the TRX I would be surprised if the wiring is there to do a plug and play so I wonder how much manual wiring was done.
On this note, I'm DEFINITELY stealing some power steps from one of my other trucks. lmfao
 

soulsea

☐ Rekt ☑ Not Rekt
Staff member
Founding Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
990
Reaction score
3,520
Location
Bar
Agreed, you can see the RAM logo on the far right end of the step in that picture. I wonder if they were able to flash the ECU to allow for the factory style control through the center screen like on the regular 1500's, does the TRX even allow for that software change? Since it wasn't a factory option on the TRX I would be surprised if the wiring is even there to do the hardwired install?

Is this to be able to disable the feature from the screen?

Aside that's it's not a great idea to have deployable steps if one is going to be doing the aggressive off roading the truck is designed for cause the chances of them lasting aren't great, but the last thing you want if you're stuck on sand or a hard surface is these things deploying when you open the door and they shatter all over the place.

So if you're going to have these and plan to off road, you better have a manual override.
 
RAM TRX Forum Supporting Member Badge

RAM-TRX Vendors

justboltons.com BwoodyPerformance.com
Top